ANC leaders to hand out pamphlets, calling for speedy resolution of transport crisis!

ANC leaders to hand out pamphlets, calling for speedy resolution of transport crisis!

21 June 2000

ANC Western Cape leaders are to hand out pamphlets from 06h00 tomorrow morning (Thursday 22 June), calling for peace, an end to all violence and a speedy resolution of issues which have led to the public transport crisis in the first place.

ANC Provincial Leader Ebrahim Rasool will lead teams of ANC Members of Parliament, Members of the Provincial Legislature, Councillors and Branch members as the ANC takes its message to Cape Town commuters at ten venues tomorrow morning.

Mr Rasool said: "We believe that all commuters need to show solidarity with their fellow commuters, mainly from the African townships, who face the brunt of violence, disruption and intimidation. Commuters in the white and coloured communities also need to show support.

"We will also give the bus drivers our support and call on commuters to support them and work with the police to arrest those responsible for the brutal attacks and murders." Mr Rasool will be on the Cape Town Station Deck Taxi Rank, (at the entrance to the Golden Acre tunnel over Strand Street) and then move to the bus terminus next to the Grand Parade.

Other leaders will be deployed as follows: Nolungile Station, Khayelitsha - Provincial Secretary Mcebisi Skwatsha, Transport Minister Dullah Omar and Cape Town Mayor NomaIndia Mfeketo. Bellville Station - Jeremy Cronin, Leonard Ramatlakane and Shaun Byneveldt.

Mitchell`s Plain Station - Marius Fransman, Jeremiah Thuynsma, Nyami Booi and Jonathan Arendse.

Langa Station - Johnny De Lange, Zou Kota, Naledi Pandor and Wewe Simelela.

Nyanga Station - Max Ozinsky, Randall van Den Heever, Yousuf Gabru and Kiki Rwexana. Mew Way entrance to Khayelitsha - Fezile Calana and Cameron Dugmore.

Crossroads Robots Entrance off N2, Airport Road, Wynberg Station, Salt River Station.

Issued by ANC Western Cape Communications
For any media equiries, contact:
Cameron Dugmore,
Head of Dept: 082-894-7553,
or Gert Witbooi,
Provincial Media Officer: 082-570-9118.