ANC Western Cape finalises NEC candidates list

ANC Western Cape finalises NEC candidates list

10 November 2002

The ANC Western Cape today finalised its candidates list for the election of the National Executive Committee, concluding unanimously that the top six officials must remain intact and that most of the current comrades serving our Movement well, should be returned.

More than 300 branch delegates, members of Regional Executive Committees and the Provincial Executive Committee, as well as members of the National Executive Committee, attended the Provincial General Council in Gugulethu today.

The PGC was held in preparation of the ANC`s National Conference, to be held from 16 ­ 20 December in Stellenbosch. Delegates to the PGC will also attend the National Conference.

This PGC also signalled the Western Cape gearing itself up to hosting the 6,000 delegates for a week in Stellenbosch.

The PGC was addressed by Joel Netshitenzhe (NEC) on the broad political characteristics and traditions of how the Movement determined its Leadership.

The PGC also finalised resolutions on a provincial political strategy, building the ANC as a mass Movement and proposed constitutional amendments.

In his concluding remarks to the PGC, ANC Provincial Chairperson Ebrahim Rasool said the province has risen above what the media wanted to portray of our leadership and who they want the ANC to elect as leaders.

Said Rasool: "This PGC also recognised the tremendous power-shift that occurred in the province the last few weeks.

"Already the ANC has an outright majority in the Central-Karoo District Council. The Unicity and four District Councils are now co-governed by the ANC-NNP coalition. With the toss of a coin the ANC-NNP coalition now also control the West Coast District Council.

"Out of the rest of the 24 councils, 17 are in the hands of the coalition. Knysna was the unexpected jewel. The ANC, together with independent councillors, have now also taken control of that council.

"Of the 24 out of 30 councils shared between the ANC and NNP, the ANC occupies 14 Mayoral seats.

"But unlike a township dog who chases a car, but don¹t know what to do when it gets it, the ANC knows what to do.

"Now is not the time for us to be divided over deployments. Now is not the time for mayors to bask in the shine of their chains. Now is not the time for councillors to indulge in luxurious items like new cars and smart houses.

"The ANC has worked out its policies, internally as well as within the framework of the ANC-NNP co-operative agreement. You must deliver services to the poor and don¹t be tempted by corrupt practices.

"On 16 December the entire ANC Leadership, national, provincial and branches, international diplomatic guests and Alliance partners will descend on Stellenbosch. We have less delegates than some of the other provinces. But what we lack in numbers, we must make up in the quality of our contributions and our hospitality as the host province.

"Our delegates must prepare well to be able to engage in quality debate. We have much to be proud of and represent in this conference.

"The comrades from the other parts of the country come here full of admiration for what we as a province was able to achieve. From being an opposition to an equal partner at all levels of government.

"They are in admiration of our political work, we have been tenaciously patient. And as a reward for that political maturity, we are now on the verge of a fundamental political power-shift, come 2004.

"We must continue to build our Movement, including our working relationship with the Alliance. In spite of some media reports we need not be worried. As a matured political leadership, the ANC is determined to overcome some of the problem areas the Alliance face in this province," said Rasool.


All six regions of the ANC unanimously nominated the top six officials to be re-elected. This was unanimously adopted by the PGC. The nominations are:

President: Thabo Mbeki Deputy President: Jacob Zuma National Chairperson: Mosioua Lekota Secretary General: Kgalema Motlanthe Deputy Secretary General: Thenjiwe Mthintso Treasurer General: Mendi Msimang

In addition to the current ten serving NEC members deployed to the Western Cape, the PGC has also put forward the names of six new Western Cape candidates. They are (in alphabetical order):

1. Fransman, Marius (Deputy Provincial Secretary)
2. Hangana, Nomatyala (Provincial Deputy Chairperson)
3. Mfeketo, Nomaindia (Cape Town Mayor)
4. Ngculu, James (ANC-MP and former Provincial Secretary)
5. Rasool Ebrahim, Provincial Chairperson)
6. Skwatsha, Mcebisi (Provincial Secretary)

All serving NEC Western Cape members have unanimously been endorsed by the PGC. They are:

7. Asmal, Kader
8. Cronin, Jeremy
9. Ginwala, Frene
10. Jordan, Pallo
11. Manuel, Trevor
12. Mbete, Baleka
13. Omar, Dullah
14. Pandor, Naledi
15. Skweyiya, Zola
16. Yengeni, Tony

The rest of the list is as follows:

17. Balfour, Ngconde
18. Bengu, Sibusiso
19. Cassaburi-Matsepe, Ivy
20. Chikane, Frank
21. Dexter, Phillip
22. Didiza, Thoko
23. Dipico Manne
24. Duarte, Jesse
25. Ebrahim, Ebrahim
26. Erwin, Alec
27. Fraser-Moleketi Geraldine
28. Hanekom, Derek
29. Hani, Limpho
30. Kasrils, Ronnie
31. Mabandla, Bridget
32. Macozoma, Saki
33. Madikizela-Mandela, Winnie
34. Maduna, Penuel
35. Makhaye, Dumisane
36. Mapisa-Nqakula, Nosiviwe
37. Mdladlana, Membathisi
38. Mkhatshwa, Smangaliso
39. Mkhize, Zweli
40. Mlambo-Ngcuka, Phumzile
41. Modise, Thandi
42. Moleketi, Jabu
43. Moosa, Mohammed Valli
44. Mthembi-Mahanyele, Sanki
45. Mufamadi, Sydney
46. Mykayaka-Manzini, Mavivi
47. Naidoo, Jay
48. Netshitenzhe, Joel
49. Ngonyama, Smuts
50. Nqakula, Charles
51. Nzimande, Blade
52. Pahad, Aziz
53. Pahad, Essop
54. Radebe, Jeff
55. Ramaphosa, Cyril
56. Shilowa, Mbazima
57. Sigcau, Stella
58. Sisulu, Lindiwe
59. Sisulu, Max
60. Zuma, Nkosazana

For further enquiries contact ANC Provincial Secretary Mcebisi Skwatsha 082-829-7452, or ANC Provincial Media Officer Gert Witbooi 082-570-9118.